she knew she would live to regret it

I did it. I mailed the prize packages this afternoon. I figured it was best to go ahead and just get it over with, rather than lament, mourn and delay the inevitable.

But it was not easy. The enemy did NOT make it easy.

The package arrived from Anne Taintor this morning. I opened it and lovingly drooled all over it fingered each individual item as I contemplated the agony of having to part with it all. The torment was too much to bear. I knew I needed to get it out of my house before I tore into it all, slapped all the magnets up on my frig, doodled in the notebook and starting making lists on the notepad…..

The temptation to keep it was too intense to have hanging over my head.

Knowing how cold hearted inconvenient the post office is, I decided to cough up the few extra dollars to ship everything from the UP*S Store. I knew they would handle me gently in my fragile state were more convenient, and I was looking to have the prize stripped from me shipped as efficiently as possible so I could just be done with it. And move on.

But their MARK-UP?! Are you kidding me?! The insensitivity, people. Do not mistake the UP*S Store as a place to find compassion. They’ll gouge you as deeply as they can with a syrupy smile plastered on their face the whole time.

Well, I’d HAD it. Here I was in a vulnerable position and I just couldn’t abide being kicked while I was down anymore loss.

I paid for my overpriced envelopes and clearly stated that no amount of convenience was worth a veritable mortgage payment. SOR. RY.

And I went to the post office. Do y’all see how committed I am to my integrity?? (Honey – are you reading? I went to the post office to save money.)

I do want to apologize to That Girl, Frantically Simple and Beyond Mom for the hideous packaging. The postal lady TACK-I-FIED it with stamps. She called it “giving them a little taste of spring” – but every classy bone in my body was screeching, “Do you not understand the value of the contents in your hands?! Anne would never, never approve.” I mean, the neat packaging job I’d done was desecrated in one fell swoop. For real. I’m so sorry. I’m so embarrassed.

But I saved money.

So I’m over it.

And One Thing – Sweet One Thang, I’m sorry for the effort you are going to have to put forth to get into your box. The same postage lady double boxed the package so I could get the flat rate priority rate. (Which makes no sense. We ADDED weight, but paid LESS?!) It’s ironic, no? Since when does the government help you save money? The UP*S Store has nothing on the United States Postal Service.

Maybe one of your little helpers will enjoy opening it. I swear it’s all in there. I didn’t just wrap a box inside a box inside a box….. although now I’m wishing I had thought of it. Because really?? All you did to earn this outstanding prize package was leave a lousy comment. That hardly seems fair.

And while I’m on the topic of likely completely offending you, I’d like to ask you to reconsider the BFF thing… because I really do love you. When I made that comment, I really had no idea how lovely you would be in your “lavender haze of Anne Taintor love…..” I mean, you’ve almost made me feel good about the GIVE-AWAY part of this give-away. And that – well, that is worthy of BFF status.

Anyway. It’s gone. It’s done. And if you start to wonder why I’m not blogging as regularly……….. well, the counseling is going to take up a good bit of time each day….. But I’ll get over it.

6 Responses to “she knew she would live to regret it”


  1. 1 lanxi April 29, 2008 at 12:13 am

    We are all so proud of you for being a person of integrity (no matter how much it sucks!). I guess the next giveaway will be a Diet Pepsi?

  2. 2 that girl April 29, 2008 at 12:32 am

    oh, honey. I promise to think of you while I’m enjoying my PRIZE and I will dust it, and love it, and create a special display box with uplighting for it…

    pinky-swear.

  3. 3 lanxi April 29, 2008 at 12:43 am

    Besides, didn’t you say your refrigerator is stainless and that you had nothing on it??

  4. 4 Jenni April 29, 2008 at 2:56 am

    You are definitely 2 good 2 be 4 gotten!

    I still can’t believe I won such a TOTALLY BITCHIN giveaway…I’m humbled and honored that you actually mailed it after fondling the wares. You are one strong woman.

  5. 5 Shauna April 29, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    I cant believe you mailed that stuff! So impressed. Watch out girls – she probably licked the packaging or something! Germs…ick!

    I kind of miss you bfls – maybe you need to call this week – just for old times sake!

  6. 6 Queen B April 29, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Did AT not send you a little happy for your efforts? I was hoping she would…


Comments are currently closed.



MY BLOG HAS MOVED

As of April 29, 2008 my blog is being hosted on my own domain at:

www.shejusthadtosayit.com

Please join me there!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

